Tales of Manila – #12 Endeavor to Change

Let’s talk about changes.

If you meet your average traveler in a country far away from everything familiar to you, the standard answer of why they are here will be: “to find myself or being on a journey of self-discovery.” Good for you, but I truly believe that no one is trying to find himself. Aren’t we on a journey of creating ourself? Aren’t we trying to learn a new language, skill, or hobby? To me, it’s about moving forward and adding to who you can be. Paul Arden once wrote a book called: It’s not how good you are, it’s how good you want to be. The title could not fit any better. Welcome to life abroad & embrace the change.

Last week, I had the honor to leave my luxurious comfort of living in a five star hotel with free breakfast and exchanged it for my very own apartment. The last time I had my own apartment was four years ago; due to its size of 14 sq. meters the positive experience was rather limited. As for now, free breakfast is only being served in my deepest dreams and I am back to living as a lone wolf. Moving into your very own flat does sound exciting, but it also bears a lot of unforeseeable circumstances. Little did I know, I had to purchase the entire kitchen equipment, linings & other items. Maybe you are a better planner than me, but as I already mentioned, I have the tendency to miss those details. Thus, I spend 80% of my day in home & garden stores, strolling from isle to isle and being lost with one simple question: “Does the fork match the knife?”

Moving out of my luxury environment also meant I had to let go of my favorite in-house gym. Fortunately, in my new neighborhood,  I have the choice between a couple of fitness studios or some local circuit training facility. Sounds exciting, huh? I had the same thought and decided it’s time for a real change. Hence, I signed up to become a member of the local boxing gym. Manny Pacquiao would be proud, Mom not so much.

Let’s talk about changes, this muscle ache is killing me already…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

